On March 15, the Great Lakes Collegiate Hockey League announced its 2015-16 conference awards.

Among those awarded were University of Michigan-Dearborn players Tyler Groat and Ryan Urso.

Groat was named the GLCHL Rookie of the Year and was also named to the conference’s first all-league team, as well as the GLCHL all-rookie team.

Groat did not play a complete season for the Wolverines, as he missed the final 11 games due to injury, including the conference playoffs and the national tournament.

Despite missing a lot of time, Groat was able to rack up 25 goals and 12 assists in only 21 games played on the season.

Team captain Ryan Urso was named the the conference’s all-league first team, as well as the all-defensive team.

The sophomore defenseman finished the season with six goals and 29 assists for a total of 35 points in 29 games played.

The Wolverines finished third in the GLCHL in the regular season. However, they were able to come into the tournament as the third seeded team, and earn three consecutive victories.

The Wolverines won their conference tournament for the first time in over 17 years. Starting goaltender Nathan Ferris was awarded tournament MVP for his strong play.