(Sabrina Gregory/MJ)


Delivering mind blowing sets, Keys N Krates and headliner Zeds Dead performed at the Masonic Temple Saturday, Oct. 8.

Moving a crowd with true energy and emotion is one of the hardest things to do but what artists live for. It’s no question that Keys N Krates produced a euphoric kickoff to the night.

Taking the crowd on a journey, KNK performed some hard-hitting classics along with showcasing some fresh tracks that brought a variety of vocals to their bass-heavy origins, creating that emotional and energy-intensive night. The effort I had to give to not dance and be professional- they were amazing!

What’s to come in the future with their music, I’m not sure, but I can guarantee they will be rattling some bones with tasteful mixes and their constantly evolving sounds.

My favorite song Nothing But Space was played about half-way through the set, which if you haven’t given it a listen, you need to! It has a chill trap vibe with a future bass style. Synths contributed with vocals create a dissonant dreamscape progression, making it easy to listen to with catchy melodies and skillful drumming. The track opens with Aquis’ mesmerizing voice, which is eventually glitched and manipulated. It then flows into the familiar Keys N Krates sound and progresses into some bomb drum patterns.

This song, along with their new stuff, really shows their growth and next level status to traditional dubstep/trap.

Not only has 2016 been a big year for the Canadian trio  KNK, but it has also been bumping for music producer, Zeds Dead, as well.

Zeds Dead has been working on their debut album Northern Lights along with many other signature singles just waiting to be unloaded. Going on digital shelves Oct 14, Northern Lights has a lot of dope aesthetics. Featured on the album are artists Twin Shadow, Pusha T and Rivers Cuomo. Never being disappointed, fans can expect eclectic elements of electro house, glitch, dirty dubs and other EDM-centric musical genres to shake their psyches.

Zed’s Dead has a very creative process to their sets. They build this unexplainable relationship with the crowd that scales to a whole new level.

The moment Zeds Dead was welcomed to Masonic’s stage, there were lifted hands in the shape of Z’s, people were screaming, and others were reaching out to show praise. As Zed’s music began to develop its hype sounds, the crowd morphed into massive head bangers. The moment was encapsulating and left the crowd screaming for more by the end of the night.

To know more about Northern Lights, here is a breakdown of the full-length album.Check it out and comment us on Facebook telling us what you think of it.

Northern Lights:

1. Stardust (ft. Twin Shadow)
2. Blame (ft. Diplo, Elliphant)
3. Lights Out (ft. Atlas)
4. Too Young (ft. Rivers Cuomo, Pusha T)
5. DNA (ft. Jadakiss, Styles P)
6. Me No Care
7. Loneliness (ft. Twin Shadow)
8. Frontlines (ft. NGHTMRE, GG Magree)
9. Already Gone (ft. Ghetts)
10. Dimemories
11. Where Did That Go
12. Neck and Neck (ft. Dragonette)
13. This Is Me (ft. Lips)
14. Symphony (ft. Charlotte OC)
15. Slow Down (ft. Jenna Pemkowski)